RoW80 – not so new (or improved) goals

After doing the last few weeks of RoW I’m excited to try again.  I’m working on my same project, so many of my goals are the same, but as I’ve been writing the past couple weeks I’ve nailed down some more structure elements, so I’m hoping to continue in that arena.

Goals:

1. I want to attempt NaNo this year.  I’m guessing with my obligations this will be too high of a word count for me.  However, I have a few things going for me.  What I am currently working on, which was originally going to be a rough draft, is turning out to be more of a fairly descriptive outline.  It needs a tone of fleshing out to become anything near what I want it to be.  So if I can finish the final conflict/big showdown and the resolution by the end of the month…then I should have a fairly decent outline to work from during November.  Which also means that if I can complete NaNo I might have a pretty decent/fairly complete rough draft, and that’s exciting. We’ll see!

2.  That leads into my next goal…finish plotting the final conflict and resolution by the end of October.  In this stage I’m also hoping to address the major scenes, making sure there’s tension in each one and that all of them drive the plot forward.  Pretty much this is my attempt to become more of a plotter and less of a pantser.  I’ve been working on this plotting shindig for a couple weeks, and I’m pretty excited about how the story is coming together with just a touch more planning.

3.  During this round I’m shooting for ~1000 words three days a week.  Except for in November when I need to do WAAAYYYY more.  Again, I’m flexible on making that goal.  But I’ve already been talking about it with my husband, so he’ll be encouraging me, which always makes it easier in the goal accomplishing department.

4.  As with the last round, no rereading until this first outline is complete.  And then, no rereading of the rough draft as I turn the outline into a draft.  At least, not until it’s done.  I can do lots of editing once it’s done, but there’s no way I can finish it if I start editing during the writing process.

5.  I’d like to post one flash fiction every other week.  Except during November…all writing energy goes towards my draft.

So that about sums up what I am hoping to accomplish.  1) plot it out. 2) outline it up. 3) write it down. 4) push forward. 5) change it up.  Did I miss anything?  I should probably add a goal…remember to carve out time for family.  They’re pretty awesome and I should hang out with them.

2 thoughts on “RoW80 – not so new (or improved) goals

  1. Miq, you can do this! I am an NP! Also live in a small town in Montana ( Does it not rock? Methinks it does) also doing NaNo and aiming toward no fewer than 500 words a day!!! I’m so excited to follow along with you! Happy ROW and good luck! Go super nurses…oh, I want a cape. I’ll get you one too!

  2. Good luck with these goals. I tried NaNo last year and loved it. This is my first attempt at ROW80, but I’m glad to be on the ‘cheer-leading’ squad and look forward to catching up with you along the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

