Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Bean Stew

Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Bean Stew

Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Bean Stew

This being a freezer meal, I couldn’t remember what was actually in it (other than the beans and broth I added when I put everything in the crock pot).

And then, once I got everything in the crock pot I stayed at home…so I never actually smelled it cooking (and any crock pot cook knows how good crock pot meals smell).

So without remembering what the ingredients were and being unable to smell the meal, I was a little unsure about how this soup would taste…I just thought it would be very very bland.

Right up until that first spoonful hit my taste buds.

Let me tell you what, this is a delicious stew.  And I’m not the only one who thought this was a pretty delicious dinner, my husband heartily approved of this meal.

The flavors are rather mild, but because no flavor overtakes the stew, it becomes a delightfully tasty dish.  A dish made even better with a slice of crusty bread to sop up some of the broth.

Ingredients:

2 cans beans, drained and rinsed (I used pinto and red beans)
2 medium carrots, peeled and diced
1 small onion, chopped
2 celery stalks, diced
3 Tbsp uncooked rice (I used brown)
2 Tbsp garlic, minced
1 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp salt
1/8 tsp ground pepper
3-4 cups broth (chicken or vegetable)

Directions:

Combine ingredients (except broth) in gallon zip lock bag.  Freeze.

Thaw.

Put contents of bag in crock pot.  Add enough broth to cover everything.

Cover and cook on low for 8 hours.

Serve and enjoy!

Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Bean Stew

Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Bean Stew

For more freezer friendly crock pot meals check out this post.

One thought on “Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Bean Stew

  1. Pingback: Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Meals | Three Descriptors

Leave a Reply

