Fancy Mac

Bacon, apple, caramelized onion mac and cheese

Bacon, apple, caramelized onion mac and cheese

Have I told you how much I love mac and cheese?  I love mac and cheese as much as a two-year-old loves mac and cheese, and I know how much that is.  It’s one of the most perfect comfort meals.  So good.  Not surprisingly,  I have tried a few different recipes.  And each has it’s own spin on the meal, and personally, I’ve enjoyed every one.

This recipe happens to use roasted squash, apple, caramelized onion, and bacon.  That makes it fancy.  It also makes it delicious.  The downside to this dish?  It’s a little more time consuming than other mac and cheese recipes.  But the flavor has more depth and dimension plus the squash gives it a beautiful orange color.  So give it a go.

Ingredients:

1/2 butternut squash
1 Tbsp butter
1/3 sweet onion, thinly sliced
1 crisp apple, chopped
2 strips of bacon, cooked to crispy and chopped
2 cups dry macaroni
1 oz cream cheese
1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese
1/2 cup evaporated milk
1/4 tsp chicken bouillon
salt, to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350.  Line pan with aluminum foil.  Place half of squash, cut side up, on pan.  Cook for 45-60 minutes.  It’s done when the squash can easily be pierced with a fork.  Scoop the flesh out.  Puree in food processor, add 1-2 Tbsp water to get the right consistency.

Heat skillet over med-low heat.  Melt butter in skillet.  Add onions to skillet, let caramelize – this should be done slowly, over about 30 minutes.

Cook pasta as instructed.  Drain.  Add squash, cream cheese, cheddar cheese, evaporated milk, and chicken bouillon.  Stir.  Add apples, onion, and bacon.  Stir.  Add salt to taste.

Serve and enjoy!

When I made this for my family, I served my 2-year-old before adding the apples, onion, and bacon (it’s a texture thing).  And she thoroughly enjoyed her squashy mac and cheese.

As for myself and my husband, we thought this was a fabulous recipe.  Unfortunately, we ran out of spinach, so we couldn’t have a salad with it, but there is squash in the mac and cheese…so I had seconds just so I would get more veggies 🙂 .

Bacon, apple, caramelized onion mac and cheese

Bacon, apple, caramelized onion mac and cheese

2 thoughts on “Fancy Mac

Leave a Reply

