Easy Greek Yogurt Mac and Cheese

Easy, creamy, delicious Greek Yogurt Mac and Cheese

Easy, creamy, delicious Greek Yogurt Mac and Cheese

I love mac and cheese.  So does my husband.  So does my two-year-old.  I stumbled upon  this recipe for greek yogurt mac and cheese over on Pinterest.  Mac and cheese.  And greek yogurt.  I was sold.  After checking the ingredients and seeing I had everything on hand, I quickly whipped up a batch for lunch.

And I was not disappointed.  So much so that I enjoyed a second helping.  Then a third.  Oops, I’m just going to say that third helping was solely due to my pregnancy…not my gluttony…anyway.

This recipe is not only easy and delicious but it lends itself to adding other flavors quite nicely.

Ingredients:

Serves 4…unless somebody has thirds, then it serves fewer 🙂

1.5 cups macaroni
1.5 cups shredded cheese
1/3 cup plain greek yogurt
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 tsp onion powder
salt and pepper to taste
1 carrot, grated and steamed (this was my vegetable add-in and it is optional)

Directions:

Cook macaroni according to directions.

In a food processor, blend cheese, greek yogurt, garlic, onion powder, and carrot.

Drain macaroni.  Return to pan and put back on the warm burner.  Add cheese mixture.  Stir until melted.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Serve and eat and enjoy.  Serve seconds and eat and enjoy.  Serve thirds and eat and enjoy.  Debate having fourths…

I added the carrot to give it a little nutritional boost.  But other veggies or meats would be tasty ( and not all the others would need to be food processed, I did that to help the texture so my SweetPea would eat it).  Veggies that I think would be good: spinach, peas, squash, tomatoes, broccoli, cauliflower, etc.  I also think that cubed ham or bacon would be mighty tasty in this dish.

3 thoughts on “Easy Greek Yogurt Mac and Cheese

    • I loved how easy/fast it was and still it was delicious. I mean, this took the same amount of time as Kraft mac and cheese…but waaayyy better.

  1. Pingback: Fancy Mac | Three Descriptors

Leave a Reply

