Crock Pot Lentil Quinoa Taco Filling

Crock Pot Lentil Quinoa Taco Filling

Crock Pot Lentil Quinoa Taco Filling

Now I love crock pot cooking.  Is there any better way to finish your day than with a delicious, homecooked, and probably healthy meal that you didn’t actually have to prepare at the end of the day?  No, there is no better way…except maybe a 5 star restaurant…but even that takes some effort…like a shower.  So really, a crock pot meal is probably the best way to go.

I recently prepared 16 (16!!!!) freezer crock pot meals.  This was not, I repeat, not one of those meals.  However, after making it today, I definitely think this is a good meal to prep in advance.  Not that prep takes much time.  The hardest tasks are rinsing the quinoa and mincing the garlic (but I used a garlic press…so it wasn’t that hard).  Anyways, it’s super easy, it’s crazy healthy, and it’s pretty dang delicious too.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup lentils (I used 1/4 black lentils and 1/4 cup orange lentils…they were what I had in the pantry)
1/4 cup quinoa, rinsed
2-3 cloves of garlic, minced
1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp cumin
2+ cups of water

Directions:

Add everything to crock pot.  Cook on low 6-7 hours.  Check occasionally and add more water as necessary (this is a very important step with my lame-o crock pot, I’m always scorching things if I don’t put additional water in…apparently the low on my machine is equivalent to the high in most machines).

Add salt and pepper to taste.

Serve like you would tacos.  I prefer soft, whole wheat taco shells, but anything works (this would probably be a killer taco salad filling).  Then add any fillings you choose.

Possible fillings:

cheese (this is a requirement for me)
lettuce
tomatoes
avocados
sour cream
salsa
olives
peppers
hot sauce (this is a requirement for my husband)

Freezer directions:

Put all ingredients in a freezer bag.  Put in freezer.  Pull out of freezer the night before.  Put in crock pot the morning of.  Cook on low 6-7 hours.  Serve as you would regular tacos.

Sit down and enjoy your meal!

For more freezer friendly crock pot meals check out this post!

Crock Pot Lentil Quinoa Taco Filling

Crock Pot Lentil Quinoa Taco Filling

3 thoughts on “Crock Pot Lentil Quinoa Taco Filling

    • Don’t worry. SweetPea was spoiled and had watermelon, banana bread, cottage cheese, and string cheese for dinner. Can you tell that I had no energy by the time dinner rolled around?

  1. Pingback: Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Meals | Three Descriptors

Leave a Reply

