Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Meals

As we approach fall I begin thinking about food.  Just kidding.  I think about food all the time.  But as fall approaches I start thinking about the crock pot.  Just kidding.  I think about crock pot meals most months of the year.

However, with my due date quickly approaching (we’re two weeks away people, two weeks!) I’ve been thinking a lot about food.  Let’s just say that as much as I love food, I love sleep even more.  That means that I’ve been known to come home from a long day and if there isn’t food put in my hands I’ll just go to bed without eating.  Maybe not the greatest thing, but I gotta do what I gotta do.  However, that skipping dinner plan seems like a very bad plan for a lady who has just given birth and is breastfeeding.  I mean, I’m going to need my calories.  So I’ve been trying to figure out what to so there are little/low effort and yet still healthy meals available.

Now freezer meals are always trendy for new moms.  But usually prepping them takes a lot of work (not something I was particularly interested in).  Or they’re expensive, prepackaged meals from the store (also not something I’m interested in…we’ve got a new baby…that means we need to watch where our pennies go  and a frozen lasagna isn’t where I want to spend my extra money).

So I went to Pinterest.  And found some freezer friendly crock pot meals.  I thought that sounded like something I could do.  Healthy, relatively inexpensive, some prep work up front, but almost no work on the day of.  Perfect.

So I came up with 14 different meals.  Made a shopping list.  Went shopping.  And for a mere $150 (which ended up making 16 frozen crock pot meals PLUS bought us groceries for the next few days) I was ready to prep my crock pot meals.

After a few hours (read: 6) of washing, chopping, measuring, combining, and cleaning I had 16 crock pot meals in the freezer!  That means 16 dinners plus left overs.  And all I have to do is throw it in a crock pot and make rice or cornbread and a salad and I’ll have dinner prepped.

Produce needed for all my crock pot meals.

Produce needed for all my crock pot meals.

Veggies (and fruits) all chopped up and ready to be frozen.

Veggies (and fruits) all chopped up and ready to be frozen.

Now, I know what you’re thinking.  Aren’t you married?  Can’t your husband cook dinner?  And yes, he can.  He’s a really good cook and he likes cooking.  And he frequently makes meals for us.  However, he’s coaching soccer this fall, which means that he doesn’t get home from the fields until sometime between 6:30 and and 8:30…and I just don’t want to wait that long for him to cook dinner.  So it’s good to have something that I can do even when I’m exhausted and my arms are full of baby and a toddler has her arms wrapped around my legs.

Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Meals

Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Meals

As I get some of these recipes on my blog I’ll put links to them here.

Crock Pot Lentil Quinoa Filling

Crock Pot Lentil Quinoa Taco Filling

Crock Pot Lentil Quinoa Taco Filling

Crock Pot Vegetable Lentil Stew

Crock Pot Vegetable Lentil Stew

Crock Pot Vegetable Lentil Stew

Crock Pot Tortilla Soup

Crock Pot Tortilla Soup

Crock Pot Tortilla Soup

Crock Pot Bean Stew

Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Bean Stew

Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Bean Stew

Crock Pot Tamale Pie

Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Tamale Pie

Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Tamale Pie

Enjoy all the good eats!

5 thoughts on “Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Meals

  1. Pingback: Crock Pot Vegetable Lentil Stew | Three Descriptors

  2. Pingback: Crock Pot Lentil Quinoa Taco Filling | Three Descriptors

  3. Pingback: Crock Pot Tortilla Soup | Three Descriptors

  4. Pingback: Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Bean Stew | Three Descriptors

  5. Pingback: Freezer Friendly Crock Pot Tamale Pie | Three Descriptors

Leave a Reply

