Biscuits! (not homemade, not healthy…but oh so delicious!)

Well, they’re homemade in that I made them at home.  But they’re definitely not from scratch.  They are however, easy and sinfully delicious and buttery.  But really, that’s the only way biscuits should be…YUM!

Biscuits!  They may have gotten overshadowed by the chicken fried steak (at least in the photo :) )

Biscuits! They may have gotten overshadowed by the chicken fried steak (at least in the photo 🙂 )

I found this recipe on Pinterest (have you noticed a theme to my recipe finds?).  Normally I try to avoid recipes with store bought mixes and I definitely try to avoid recipes with soda in them.  But the recipe had rave reviews…so I gave it a whirl.  And boy was I (and my family) glad I did.  Tonight was actually the second time I’ve made this recipe, granted the first time was about 2 years ago (I do try to eat healthy most of the time), so I knew it was going to be a winner at meal time.

And the reason I made chicken fried steak AND buttery, oh-so-buttery biscuits?  My husband’s job.  He’s a high school soccer coach, and in Montana the season is just starting.  In fact, today was the last day of tryouts, and cuts can be stressful for coaches.  So I asked him what special meal he would want to celebrate tryouts being done.  He said “chicken fried steak,” and I said, “with biscuits!”  Which brings us to today.

7up Biscuits:

Ingredients:

2 cups bisquick (I just used a generic pancake mix) mix
extra pancake mix…for sprinkling purposes
1/2 cup sour cream (I used 1/4 sour cream and 1/4 cup greek yogurt.  Why?  Because I’m all about being healthy, obviously…that and I ran out of sour cream at 1/4 cup…)
1/2 cup 7up
1/4 cup butter

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Put butter in 9×9 inch pan, put in oven, and melt.

In mixing bowl, fold sour cream (and greek yogurt) into pancake mix.  Add 7up, mix.  It will be a sticky mess, suck it up and imagine the deliciousness that will come from the mess.

Sprinkle counter top with some pancake mix.  Dump dough onto counter.  Shape and cut/tear/pull biscuits apart.  Place them in the pan on top of the melted pool of butter.

Bake 12-15 minutes or until biscuits are a delicious golden brown.

Try to wait until they are no longer 450 degrees before devouring (this is the hardest step).

Serve with something else that is just as unhealthy and just as delicious.  Like battered meat that has then been fried (aka chicken fried steak).  Yum!

Raw dough...you can't tell (nor could you in person) but I did separate the dough into the individual biscuits and they did pull apart nicely once baked.  Notice that pool of delicious butter in the bottom of the pan.

Raw dough…you can’t tell (nor could you in person) but I did separate the dough into the individual biscuits and they did pull apart nicely once baked. Notice that pool of delicious butter in the bottom of the pan.

Ready to eat!

Ready to eat!

Leave a Reply

