Broccoli Crepes aka SweetPea’s Dinner

SweetPea's dinner - broccoli crepes

SweetPea’s dinner – broccoli crepes, veggie nuggets, and honeydew

I don’t think I’m alone in wondering if my kid is eating enough of the right stuff.  Or do I give in too much to her requests for cereal, oatmeal, crackers, bread, or any other carb she can think of?

So I’m always trying to come up with ways to get her to eat more fruits and veggies and meat.  And one of the best things I’ve found is the website Weelicious (and I’ve had lots of luck with her book, with the same name).  The other day I made some veggie nuggets from the book Weelicious.  I’m pretty sure my husband and I like them more than SweetPea does, but she’ll have one or two a couple of days a week, so it’s still a winning toddler recipe as far as I’m concerned.  The only downside to this recipe is it’s time-consuming.  But I guess I just prioritize it and I’ll make a batch every couple of weeks and freeze ’em.

My other trick for getting SweetPea to eat veggies is crepes.  It’s really only a surefire thing if it’s a broccoli crepe.  But hey, she’s eating broccoli.  And she’ll have a handful of these crepes every week.  I’m not sure if she would like broccoli crepes if I hadn’t introduced them to her when she was much more pipsqueaky than she is now.  She’s been eating them for over a  year and half (and she’s just over two years old now) in fact you can read about them in another blog post of mine from over a year ago right here.  It’s my go to “I’m a good mom because my kid eats broccoli meal,” and the crepes aren’t that unhealthy either.

Broccoli Puree:

1 head of broccoli, chopped into pieces
1/2 head of cauliflower, chopped into pieces
2-3 cloves of garlic
water

Put everything in a large pan.  Add enough water so there’s about an inch of water in the pan.  You don’t want too much water because it gets blended into the vegetables (preserve all those nutrients that leeched out 🙂 ).  Bring to boil.  Cover and reduce heat, simmering until the broccoli and cauliflower are soft.

Put everything in blender.  Blend until smooth.

Serve and enjoy.

I pour the puree into a few ice cubes trays and freeze it.  Then I heat one or two up for a meal and I’m good to go.

Crepes:

1 egg
3/4 cup milk
1/2 cup flour (I use whole wheat)

Put everything in a mixing bowl.  Whisk until smooth.

Heat skillet.  Grease skillet (I use an olive oil sprayer for this).  Cook like you would pancakes.

I usually make SweetPea broccoli crepes, but if she eats two at a serving and wants a third one, I’ll make her a peanut butter and jelly one.  Sometimes I’ll get ahead of myself and make a crepe in anticipation of her wanting it and then she doesn’t.  But that’s ok, because I just put nutella on it and eat it myself 🙂 .  We’ve tried a few other vegetable purees for this but she doesn’t really eat any of those other purees.  So we’ve stuck pretty solidly to broccoli puree.

This is also a good recipe for adult crepes.  You can make them savory or sweet.  And they are delicious!

Eating Crepes

Eating Crepes

Enjoying Dinner

Enjoying Dinner

Leave a Reply

