Cupcake Day Continues aka Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes

Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes

Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes

After learning today was cupcake day there was really only one thing I could do.  Make cupcakes.  Now let me make a couple things clear right from the start.  First thing, I’m not a big baker…don’t get me wrong, when I bake my stuff comes out good, I just don’t normally choose to bake (I usually whine until my husband bakes me something tasty 🙂 ).  Second thing, I especially avoid baking during the summer when it’s hot…when it’s hot out I prefer sitting…in water…with a cold beverage…or two.  But it is cupcake day.  And I love cupcakes.  So what else could I do?

With a little input from my husband, I decided on Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes.  So off to the store I went to pick up key ingredients.  When I got home I realized I forgot one key ingredient: blueberries.  Oops.  Good thing my husband was on board with cupcake day because he went and got some for me while SweetPea and I started baking.

Today was a big day for me and SweetPea.  I got to introduce her to the best parts of baking.  Licking the batter bowl.  And taste testing the frosting.  Mother-daughter bonding at its best…and healthiest.

Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes: 12 cupcakes

Ingredients:

1.5 cups plus 1 Tbl all-purpose flour, divided
1/2 Tbsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temp
1 cup sugar
1 egg and 1 egg yolk
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
zest of 1/2 lemon
1 Tbsp lemon juice
3/4 cup 2% milk
3/4 cup fresh blueberries

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line muffin tin with paper liners, spray said liners with Pam or some generic cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

In a mixer, cream together butter and sugar.

Add eggs, beating mixture thoroughly.

Add vanilla extract, lemon zest, and lemon juice.  Mix thoroughly.

With mixer at a low speed add 1/3 of the flour mixture.  Mix.  Then add 1/2 the milk.  Mix.  Then add 1/3 of the flour mixture.  Mix.  Then add the rest of the milk.  Mix.  Then add the rest of the flour mixture.  Mix.  Mix until just incorporated.  Do not over mix.

In a small bowl, toss the blueberries with the reserved flour (1 Tbsp) until coated.  Using a spatula, fold blueberries into batter.

Spoon batter into muffin tin.

Bake 17-19 minutes.  They are done when a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Let cool for 5 minutes in the muffin.  Remove from pan and place on cooling rack to cool completely.

Once cooled, frost.  Then enjoy!

Frosting:

Ingredients

8 oz cream cheese, room temp
1/4 cup butter, room temp
zest of 1/2 a lemon
1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
1.5 cups powdered sugar

Directions:

In a mixer, cream butter and cream cheese together.

Add lemon zest and lemon juice.  Mix thoroughly.

Add powdered sugar.  Mix thoroughly (and carefully, no need for a cloud of powdered sugar in the kitchen).

Frost!

This made about twice as much frosting as what I needed…so I recommend cutting the frosting recipe in half or really put a lot on those cupcakes 🙂

Helping Mom!

Helping Mom!

Coating the blueberries with flour.  It's a tough job, but somebody has to do it!

Coating the blueberries with flour. It’s a tough job, but somebody has to do it!

Tasting the batter!

Tasting the batter!

Fresh out of the oven and looking delicious.

Fresh out of the oven and looking delicious.

Finished product

Finished product

 

Dad making sure it's not too hot.  SweetPea licking her chops in anticipation.

Dad making sure it’s not too hot. SweetPea licking her chops in anticipation.

Was it worth the wait?

Was it worth the wait?

Oh yeah! Totally worth the wait!

Oh yeah! Totally worth the wait!

Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes!

Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes!

 

8 thoughts on “Cupcake Day Continues aka Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

