Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls

IMG_7565

I found this recipe quite a while ago.  The first thing I did was send it to my best friend, Katie*, because she eats cookie dough for most meals.  So I figured this recipe would be right up her alley.

*Names have not been changed because honestly, how many Katie’s do you know?  If I was going to change her name, it would have been to a really common name…probably Katie.

Then I forgot about the recipe.  Oh sure, I’d see it on my Pinterest board, but I never really thought about making it.  Until this week, when SweetPea and were playing with playdoh.  And I thought, maybe, just maybe, SweetPea might want to help me make this recipe…she could roll the dough into balls.  It would be perfect.

Unfortunately, SweetPea didn’t help with this recipe.  She was 1) too busy having a second breakfast and 2) as soon as I touched the dough I knew it would be too messy for her delicate sensibilities (she’s a bit of a neat freak).

However, I thought the recipe turned out delicious (and I took pictures of the process), which made it an ideal candidate for this blog.

Ingredients:

2/3 cup raw cashews
1/3 cup oats
1.5 Tbsp honey
2 tsp maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup mini chocolate chips (trust me, the smaller the morsels the better the end product…and also this is one instance where more is not better)

Directions:

Process cashews and oats in food processor until they’re a fine powder.  Be careful not to over blend or you will make cashew butter, which isn’t a bad thing…but not what we want for this recipe.

Add honey, maple syrup, and vanilla.  Mix until combined.

Add chocolate chips.  Mix until combined.

Form into balls.  If the dough is too sticky to work with, chill it in the fridge or freezer for a bit (just not too long).  Place in refrigerator to harden and form.   Serve/share/eat/devour (whichever you prefer).

Nuts & Oats

Nuts & Oats

Cashew Flour

Cashew Flour

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the fine powder I was talking about.  I think I could have pushed it a little more, but I didn’t want cashew butter.

Cashew Flour & Honey & Syrup

Cashew Flour & Honey & Syrup & Vanilla

All mixed up

All mixed up

With Chocolate Chips Added

With Chocolate Chips Added

Formed balls (hehehehe!)

Formed balls (hehehehe!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We’re getting so close!  This is a fine time to stop and taste the goods.  But they do get better if you let them cool…that, however, is a big if in my kitchen.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls - the final product!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls – the final product!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls

Leave a Reply

