Leftover chicken quesadillas

I’m a big fan of leftovers.  A really big fan.

In fact, when I was a kid, leftovers were my go-to-breakfast.  My favorite breakfast was spaghetti.  I liked leftovers so much better than traditional breakfast foods…probably because they provided a more well rounded meal.  So I got more protein and fat in, which kept me full til lunch.  Whatever the reason, to this day, I still like my leftovers.

After making crockpot bbq chicken and then chicken stock, you can read about that here, I definitely had some leftover chicken to use.  What to do? What to do?

Obviously the first step in a situation like this is to peruse Pinterest.  Because there are always good ideas to be found there.  And I stumbled upon a recipe I had pinned awhile ago.  You can find the recipe I used here.  But it wasn’t particularly helpful for me in using up my leftovers.  But an easy additional quickly remedied that problem.  And I had a fast, healthy (not to mention delicious) meal ready in a jiffy.

All my prepped ingredients.  The bowl with orange accents if a Boon manual food mill.  I used it to make sure everything was small enough for SweetPea.

All my prepped ingredients. The bowl with orange accents is a Boon manual food mill. I used it to make sure everything was small enough for SweetPea.

Quesadillas all prepped and ready to go in the skillet.

Quesadillas all prepped and ready to go in the skillet.

Frying 'em up!

Frying ’em up!

Black Bean Quesadillas

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 cup shredded cheese
1 cup cooked, shredded chicken
tortillas
salsa
sour cream

1.  Take the first 3 ingredients, mix them together.

2. Spoon 1/2 cup of mixture onto half a tortilla and fold tortilla in half.

3.  Heat skillet over med heat, add a tablespoon vegetable oil.

4.  Put quesadilla in skillet for about 2 minutes.  Turn to other side.  Remove when inside is melty and gooey but before outside gets burnt.

5.  Top with salsa, sour cream, and whatever else you want

6. Enjoy.

Served and ready to eat.

Served and ready to eat.

How much does a 2-year-old eat?  This much...not much...

How much does a 2-year-old eat? This much…not much…

2 thoughts on “Leftover chicken quesadillas

Leave a Reply

