Apple Spice Bread

So SweetPea really didn’t eat much yesterday.  Last night I pretty much offered all her favorite foods, and she just wasn’t interested.  So naturally, I blamed myself and decided that she was bored with every single thing we had been feeding her.  I immediately planned a trip to the grocery store so I could make big batches of kid friendly food and freeze them for just these kind of emergencies (and also for every day for expanding her palette, getting her all her nutrients, yadda, yadda, yadda).

Turns out, she probably wasn’t sick of everything I was feeding her.  She actually was coming down with a cold and just won’t eat much when she doesn’t feel well.

But I maintain, that chances are, she is getting a little bored with the same ole meals every single day.  So we went to the store.  And we spent a lot of money buying ingredients for multiple dishes.  And apple spice bread happened to be the first one I made.  I’m hoping that SweetPea will muster up enough of an appetite to give it a few nibbles.  And I’m especially hoping that it will make delicious french toast, for SweetPea, I mean, I’ll probably have a slice or two myself.  But definitely the french toast is for SweetPea.  I repeat, it’s not for my own slightly selfish desire for french toast.

I found the recipe for this bread over at A Hungry Runner.  And recreated it, with a few tweaks.  Pardon the quality of the photos, but they’re better than most of the pictures I take, that’s why I posted them.  Boo-yah!
Apple Spice Bread

1 1/2 cups shredded apples (2 small-mediumish apples (I used granny smith))
1/2 cup fat free plain greek yogurt
1 egg + 1 egg white
3 tablespoons brown sugar
2 cups all purpose flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1/4 teaspoon allspice

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour bread pan.

Beat egg and egg white.  Add shredded apples, greek yogurt, and brown sugar; mix well.  Add the rest of the ingredients.  Stir until mixed.

Spread into bread pan.  Put into oven.

Bake 40-45 minutes, until golden brown.  Let sit 5 minutes in pan.  Remove from pan.  Cool and enjoy.

I’ll let you know tomorrow how the french toast turns out.  And also if this was a success for a picky-when-I don’t-feel-good eater.

2 thoughts on “Apple Spice Bread

  1. Pingback: Apple Spice Bread Update | Three Descriptors

Leave a Reply

