No-Poo, Worst Name Ever? Possibly.

Well, I’ve decided to join the no-poo movement.  Maybe not join it indefinitely, but at least give it a shot.

No-poo? you ask yourself.  Yes, no-poo.  It means no shampoo, at least no store bought shampoo.  On Friday I whipped up a batch of baking soda cleanser.  It was quite easy, boiling water plus baking soda.  The hardest part was waiting for it to cool enough to use.  Then I made an apple cider vinegar rinse.  You can find both of these recipes here.  While you’re looking, check out her pictures of her hair, first while she is still using shampoo then after a few weeks of going no-poo.  It’s amazing.  I don’t know if it will change my hair this much, but no matter.  I didn’t buy shampoo.  I didn’t put any unknown, freaky-deaky chemicals on head.  And now I’m just waiting for my hair to get curly, we’ll see.

5 thoughts on “No-Poo, Worst Name Ever? Possibly.

  1. I stopped using traditional shampoo on my hair a few months ago; the results were amazing! I always thought my hair was frizzy and frumpy, but it turns out my hair is actually beautifully curly and just needed to be allowed room to breathe. Now my hair is lively, healthy, and *tooting my own horn here* quite pretty. No-poo is the way to go! 🙂

  2. Interesting. I’ve used bar shampoo because it contained way less chemicals and made my own laundry detergent but not yet made shampoo. Sounds easy so I must try it.

    • It was super easy to make, I actually made it right before I used it in the morning (and I don’t add complicated things to my morning routine). Jury’s still out about whether I like it or not. I’m giving it a few months before I decide.

  3. I am a No Poo girl….terrible name, great products! I use Deva Curl product by the gallon. I did learn that for curls, never use a regular towel on your hair, never! Use a flour sack t or tee shirt (I buy the sack towels at Target in the dish towel section) scrunch don’t rub and spray lots of Deva Curl Set it Free on wet hair. I always had curls but never this amazing looking!!

  4. You have definitely inspired me to give this a go. For years I’ve been the Pantene 2 in 1 type. . .But I’m completely curious. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

