Flash Fiction (18) – Watch Dog

friday fictioneers, dog, watch dog, pet dog

Prompt from Madison Woods.  Go check out her site to how others responded to this prompt.

Watch Dog

The nightmares come at night.  She wakes sweating and shaky.  Silently, she rises from her bed.

Outside and across the yard she goes.  When she arrives, she throws her arms around the dog and drops to the ground.  Cuddling closer, she can smell the outdoors in the shaggy fur but she doesn’t mind.  She snuggles deeper and drifts asleep into dreams that are safe, into dreams where she is protected.

The dog, used to watching over the little girl, keeps one eye open, and settles in for a long night.

23 thoughts on “Flash Fiction (18) – Watch Dog

  1. This is really nice. I like that you evoke the scent of the dog – anyone who has owned a dog knows (and often loves) that scent. I can just see the dog in the picture with a little girl curled up next to him, keeping guard.

  2. You caught that bond between child and dog PERFECTLY! This is so very good, and reveals the loving and protective nature of our dogs. The comfort a child receives is shown in spades here. EXCELLENT WORK!!! I love this story!

    • Doug, I don’t think any of my writing has ever received such high praise before. Thank you so much for your kind words, they really mean a lot to me.

      miq

  3. Love how she has utter faith in the dog’s presence to keep the nightmares at bay. I also like your present tense use here; it gives the story a nice sense of being ‘in the moment.’

  4. Because I find your blog thoroughly entertaining, I’m nominating you for a Liebster award! The very simple details are on my blog. thediaryofareluctantmother.com Thanks for sharing your writing talents and all the other great content!

    • Thank you so much! I’m working on getting my post up for it. But it’s hard to know which blogs only have a few followers, so I’m just nominating some favorites and hoping! Thanks again.

  5. I’m late to add my praises, but I did love this story too. What I loved was the surety that the dog would protect and his settling into the long night willingly.

Leave a Reply

