The Upstairs Room by Johanna Reiss

True

Uplifting

Courageous

This is a beautiful account of two young Jewish sisters hiding in Holland during the Nazi invasion.  The youngest, Annie de Leeuw, is the narrator and through her naive eyes we are shown two years of hiding.

I really enjoyed this book.  I found Annie’s innocent view of the war and the Nazis to be utterly charming, and I couldn’t stop reading her story.  I also loved the other characters in the book.  Annie’s story, honestly and simply, highlights the compassion and bravery of the families hiding Jews during the occupation.

This is an autobiographical tale.  The author wrote about her war experience for her kids and this book is the product.  While I was reading the book the language, thoughts, and feelings seemed so organic and natural because they were.  Annie asks certain questions in the book, and they sound so true that I know the author actually asked, word for word, those same questions.  It was during those moments I fell in love with the book.

The Upstairs Room, holocaust, book, Nazis, Holland, history

I would absolutely recommend this book.  It is a story that both children and adults need to hear. Oh, and if my recommendation isn’t enough, that Newberry Honor seal should be 🙂

Leave a Reply

