The Farthest Shore – a review

Philosophical

Captivating

Conclusion (of the Earthsea trilogy)

I have only just moments ago finished The Farthest Shore, the conclusion of Ursula K. Le Guin’s Earthsea Trilogy.

I need a moment to catch my breath and slow my heartbeat.

I’m still trying to verbalize my feelings about the book.

Let me say, the conclusion of this book, as with the previous two books, is amazing (if you’re interested in my reviews of those books you can find them here and here).  Le Guin manages to explore philosophical and ethical questions in a manner that drives the stories but never overshadows them.  At the end of this book, I find that I keep thinking about her take on life and death and their inextricable connection.

I’m not going to recap the novel, you can check Wikipedia for that.

The Farthest Shore, Ursula Le Guin, fantasy, dragons, wizards, magic, books,  Earthsea trilogyI would recommend this book, and this series, to fantasy readers.  I would, however, caution potential readers.  These books are not easy reads, they require thinking and hard work.  Like so much in life, there is a lot of work put into building up for the fireworks.  If you are willing to put the work into these books, you will definitely be rewarded.  If you prefer reading books for their face value stories, then I can recommend some others that you will find much more enjoyable.

One thought on “The Farthest Shore – a review

Leave a Reply

