Flash Fiction (9) Deja Vu

Prompt from Inspiration Monday.  Go check it out for more prompts and more interpretations of those prompts.

The Echo Before the Cry

I just knew.   Meeting him was kind of like deja vu.  And it sounds so dumb and so cliche, but I did, I knew.  It felt like I had already lived this whole life with him, and now we were just redoing, refeeling, reliving what we had already done.

It’s not like I knew what was going to happen.  I didn’t.  And if I did know, I’m not sure I would have chosen to relive that life, with him.  I mean, it got better, it got good, it got better than good.  But the getting there, that wasn’t so good.  I just don’t know if the now is worth all that past.

I don’t regret staying, or fighting for him, for us.  But I don’t know.  If it really had already happened, and if I knew that this is how it would happen, I just don’t know if I would chose to do it again.  That’s all I’m saying, I just don’t know.

6 thoughts on “Flash Fiction (9) Deja Vu

  1. I hear you. Like they say, ‘you only get one shot in life’, so if I knew ahead of time, i don’t think i would do it again. But obvious life doesn’t work like that, only in the movies lol. I guess it would be tough really, i mean depending on the relationship..how strong…how much you were in love with each other…ect. I do know some relationships are not worth repeating. I guess in the end this one is a conundrum.

  2. I like this. even though you don’t give any specifics, I’m drawn in and I feel like I know the story. You convey the feelings of what must have been years in a very few words. Nicely done.

  3. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: deadly paper « BeKindRewrite

  4. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: deadly paper | bekindrewrite

Leave a Reply

