Making Readers and Keeping Them – a reblog

A nice little post about getting children interested in reading. I definitely recommend clicking on some of her links for more detail on that specific endeavor.

Annie Cardi

When I changed schools in fifth grade, the principal asked my parents what I liked to do. They said, “She reads a lot,” and the principal smiled and said, “I could tell.” I was the kid who checked out an armful of books from the library and had a rotating stack of them on my nightstand. It wasn’t all great literature (a glance at the Friday Fifteen would tell you that), but it meant I wasn’t fearful of reading in any way. As a result, I was always a little surprised to hear from friends who weren’t big readers as kids. And these aren’t just people who had trouble in school when they were young. They were bright and talented kids who didn’t find reading that appealing.

So I was interested in a couple of recent blog posts about fostering a child’s love for reading, even if the child in…

View original post 447 more words

One thought on “Making Readers and Keeping Them – a reblog

Leave a Reply

