The Tombs of Atuan: a review

Sequel (to A Wizard of Earthsea)

Slow (to start)

Revealing

The second book in Le Guin’s Earthsea trilogy could be a stand alone novel.  As either part of the trilogy or alone it is a masterpiece.

I liked this book so much more than the first (see it’s review here).  I felt the protagonist (not Ged but Arha) was much more relatable.  The majority of the book is developing her character and setting her up for the climax.  Finally towards the end of the book she meets Ged, who is the catalyst for a deep self analysis and through that analysis she makes some powerful discoveries and choices.

Le Guin doesn’t veer from the style she worked with in the first book.  If you find slower, more descriptive books boring this may not be your cup of tea but it’s so well done it might change your perspective on this style of writing. It’s done to such a high caliber that I would encourage anyone to read this book.  It’s rather short, so it’s not a big time commitment, but it is very worthwhile.

The Tombs of Atuan

And now I’m off to read the third book (which I purchased from yet another thrift store).  I’ll let you know how it goes 🙂

8 thoughts on “The Tombs of Atuan: a review

    • I love how this book doesn’t just focus on Ged and love Ged’s role in this book.

      I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to read these books. Le Guin’s a master!

      • She is indeed!

        I didn’t want to read the books at first because I was prejudiced against fantasy (not another Harry Potter.-like novel, wrongly thought I….) but I read the first for a school assignment…and now proudly call myself a fantasy writer. Haha. 🙂

  1. Yay! I love that you’re reading these. As a huge fan of them, it makes me so happy. 🙂 Plus, I like the fresh perspective—it’s been way too long since I’ve read them all! Hope you enjoy the rest, if you get to them. I think you’ll like what’s in store. And props to you for using a more vintage cover of the book: it’s the one I have and I adore it!

    • It might be nerdy, but I try to always post the cover that I actually read. So I was stoked to get those old books. Sadly, the next book is a different edition with different art 😦

      • Yeah, I had that problem, too. The Tombs of Atuan was given to me by a friend, who introduced me to the series, but I couldn’t find cool-looking covers for the other books except A Wizard of Earthsea (I have the purple edition).

  2. Pingback: The Farthest Shore – a review « Three Descriptors

Leave a Reply

