Mara Daughter of the Nile: A Review

Egypt

Spy triangle  (like a love triangle, minus the love plus spying)

Exciting

This is a book I thoroughly enjoyed.  And once I got to the climax it only got better.  I literally couldn’t read the last fifty pages fast enough; there was too much danger; the plot moved so quickly; I had to know what happened next.

The book easily pulls you in with a little action.  Then the author (Eloise Jarvis McGraw) throws in quite a bit of intrigue.  Then she adds a little love interest and with that she ups the ante of internal conflict.  And all of that happens very early in the book.

McGraw continued to keep me eagerly turning pages by having a quick moving plot, a villain who is cold, calculating, and always on the verge of discovering our heroine’s duplicitous secret, a forbidden romance, and danger all around.

Flaws?  Yes, there are some flaws.  Mara (the protagonist) is a slave in ancient Egyptian times.  And yet she can read and is fluent in two languages.  This is crucial to the story.  But it is also a little unbelievable.  I haven’t done much research on ancient Egypt but I definitely believe that learning to write hieroglyphics is a huge undertaking, and wouldn’t be accomplished by a slave who only has a little time and energy to put in to this feat.  On one hand, it wasn’t believable.  So that’s a flaw.  On the other hand, I just didn’t care about that trivial detail, I was too busy trying to finish the book to find out what happens.  And that’s a plus (to me, everything evens itself out).

This book is not my typical book.  But it was highly enjoyable so it only took a couple readings to finish the book.  It is definitely a book I will read again.

Mara Daughter of the Nile

2 thoughts on “Mara Daughter of the Nile: A Review

Leave a Reply

