Thrifty Thrifty Stores

So I’ve been hitting up the local thrift stores the past couple weeks.  And I’m pretty proud that I’ve kept my purchases to a minimum.

I did find a couple sleep sacks, a cute onesie, and a play phone for Daughter.  Although I’m a little on the fence about her having a play phone, I would much rather her have her own phone to chew on than always finding my phone (which has a broken zero button due to her chewing, and you don’t realize how important that zero button is until you can’t use it anymore).

I also found a cheese slicer.  Which you might not think is particularly cool because you can go to the store and get one at anytime.  But, one of the things I really dislike about new kitchen utensils is how big their handles are.  I don’t want to only be able to fit four utensils in a drawer.  And I don’t use the cheese slicer enough to warrant an ergonomic handle.  So I was very pleased to find an old school cheese slicer.

And the things I am most excited about are books.  You’re probably shocked to hear that I bought books.  I’ve only bought three.  I know, I know this is where I’ve really reined myself in.  But I bought a Harry Potter book (shhh…I haven’t read the whole series yet).  And two of the Earthsea books, which I also haven’t read yet.  I’m super excited about these books and hope that I can get the rest of the series soon (I might have to splurge and buy some of the books new).

5 thoughts on “Thrifty Thrifty Stores

    • I know! I started reading them when they were first coming out and so every time a new book came I had to reread the prior ones. After the first four I stopped reading them and was just going to read the whole series once it all came out…but I never got to it. I’m working on it now though.

  1. Once you get done with Harry Potter you should check out the Inheritance Series, Eragon… If you haven’t read them already. Also a great series is the Outlander books series by Diana Gabaldon, she’s a great historical fiction writer…. highly recommend!

Leave a Reply

