Imagination: The Pros and Cons

Overactive

Nightmarish

Disappointing (not in every way, but sometimes)

I’ve been having nightmares.  And I’m not even sure I can call them nightmares.  They happen at night, but I’m never asleep.  Dang me and my highly developed imagination!

I don’t normally curse my imagination.  After all, my imagination allows me to escape any mundane, irritating, or painful situation I’m in.  It let’s me explore new worlds and meet new people.  I feel very lucky to read a book and become completely immersed in the story being told.

But, there’s always a but, sometimes my imagination is more of a curse.  Like at night.  Especially when my fiance is out of town (thankfully he’s back now).  I recently read (and reviewed) Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.  I mentioned I found it scary.  And it was.  But, even worse, it’s still scaring me!  The monster in the book has carved it’s way into my psyche.

I see the monster whenever I get up at night.  And I have a 9 month old daughter who most assuredly does not sleep through the night.  That means I get up anywhere from one to four times a night to take of her.  And I am certain, every time, that the dang monster is in my home.  It’s on the stairs, or it’s in the room across the hall, or I hear a creak and I know it’s about to come in to the nursery and tear us apart.

I’ve started turning lights on when I get up to nurse my daughter.  It helps.  Then on the return trip I have to turn the lights off and make my way back to the bed.  I always look at my dog (he’s also a chicken) right before turning off the lights.  If he is sleeping (which he always is) then I know no monsters have sneaked in while I was with my daughter.  Then I quickly walk (I do not run, what if I trip? then I’m a sitting duck for the monster) to the bedroom and jump in to bed.

Once my body is completely under the covers I can breathe a little sigh of relief because, as everyone knows, monsters can’t get you when you’re under the covers.  Then I cuddle up a little closer to my fiance and feel my heartbeat slow, always certain I’ll never fall asleep before Daughter wakes up again.  Then I sink deeper in the mattress and let the comforting darkness of sleep keep me safe from all the monsters.

4 thoughts on “Imagination: The Pros and Cons

  1. i had a spell where i was having the worst nightmares. it got so i was afraid to go to sleep. all i can say is the horrible cliche. this too shall pass.

    btw, remind me not to read that book.

Leave a Reply

