The Farthest-Away Mountain: Lynne Reid Banks

Between work, caring for my daughter, and the general hustle and bustle of everyday responsibilities I haven’t finished the book I’m currently reading.  Which means I can’t review it.  However, I took the 45 minutes to reread one of my favorites from childhood.  Now, for the review.

Magical

Descriptive

Enjoyable

Lynne Reid Banks, if you don’t know, is the author of ‘The Indian in the Cupboard.’  If you’re like me, you know that book from elementary school.  When I was a kid, Banks came to my hometown.  And this worked out well in my favor.  My mom bought me a few more of her books (I’ve always loved reading) and I got to meet her to get them autographed.  One of the books I got at this time was ‘The Farthest-Away Mountain.’  I have read it many times in the past two decades, and when I say many, I do mean many.  At least ten, probably more.  As I mentioned earlier, it only took me about 45 minutes to read.  So it’s a rather short book.  But, making it even easier to read, it is an amazingly well-written children’s fantasy book.

The book pulls you in and then it pulls you along.  Like many children’s books it definitely has a take home message.  The ones that are written out clearly in the story are: to truly do good one must be good, wise, and courageous (at least, that’s my interpretation, you can decide for yourself).  What a great message!  Perhaps this book should be required reading for everyone.  No, really, I mean everyone.

Another thing that is great about this book is the protagonist is a young girl.  There are monsters, ogres, and gargoyles in the book, so it’s not “too girly” for the boys. But the heroine is good, wise, and courageous.  She thinks on her feet and stands up to all the monsters.  This is a great book for young girls and boys to read.

The book starts with a young girl who has a desire to visit the farthest away mountain.  One day the mountain beckons her.  And she is off on adventure to save the mountain and those who are enslaved on it.

This book really has everything a good fantasy book needs.  A good guy, a bad guy.  Heroic physical endeavors, as well as heroic mental endeavors.  Magic abounds.  If your child (or you) want to explore a magical world a visit to to the farthest away mountain is in order.  It’s a delightful, easy read.  And a great book for young readers.

The Farthest-Away Mountain

Leave a Reply

